The most important elements of the draft agreement are these:[21] The agreement was revised as part of the Johnson Department`s renegotiation in 2019. The amendments adapt about 5% of the text. [22] If there is no agreement between the two parties, the default position is that customs duties on all products should be paid. But if they do not reach an agreement by the end of the transitional period, on 31 December 2020, and if there is no free trade agreement, part of this new legislative proposal could come into play. The Declaration on the Future Relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom, also known as the Political Declaration, is a non-binding declaration, negotiated and signed at the same time as the binding and more comprehensive Withdrawal Agreement in the context of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union (EU), commonly known as Brexit, and the planned end of the transition period. On 22 October 2019, the House of Commons agreed by 329 votes to 299 to grant the revised Withdrawal Agreement (negotiated by Boris Johnson earlier this month) at second reading, but when the accelerated timetable it proposed did not receive the necessary parliamentary support, Johnson announced that the legislation would be on hold. [38] [12] On the 15th Several members of the government, including Dominic Raab, Secretary of State for Leaving the European Union, resigned on 18 November 2018, the day after the agreement was handed over and the support of the British government`s cabinet. [28] On 23 January 2020, the UK Parliament committed to implementing the then draft agreement [European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020]. Following the signing of the Agreement, the Government of the United Kingdom issued and deposited the instrument of ratification of Great Britain on 29 January 2020. [7] [8] The agreement was ratified by the Council of the European Union on 30 January 2020, after consent of the European Parliament on 29 January 2020. The withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the Union entered into force on 31 January 2020 at 11 p.m GMT, the date on which the Withdrawal Agreement entered into force in accordance with Article 185. .

. .